Summer Reading, Mama-Style

I used to ADORE my summer reading lists. Seriously, you would have loathed me in grade school. But, I was just so earnest, and eager to travel to ll the marvelous places my YA books would take me; The Ramayana, The Illiad, every Scott O’Dell book ever published, The Book of Virtues, The Nancy Drew series…I was such a book nerd my mother once enrolled me in one of those book clubs where they send you a new book every week along with stickers for your diary and posters of pop stars. I treasured those weekly packages which then set up an unrealistic expectation as to the excitement my mail should contain. This likely is why I ask ZPB to open all our mail… in any event….BOOKS. BOOKS IN SUMMER.

 

This was all well and good when I had hours upon hours to just decide what to do, which tree to climb, which game to play and which doll to bring. But as a mama, I’m much more judicious. Summer will pass by more swiftly than I shall realize and the next thing I know, I’ll be peeling apples for applesauce and screwing around trying to make those infernal popcorn balls I never seem to master.

 

Behold, the 2014 Summer Reading List:

1. Packaging Boyhood: Saving Our Sons From Superheroes, Slackers and Other Media Stereotypes

2. French Women for All Seasons (hold the guffaws, please)

3. The Everything Potty Training Book

4. 1,2,3…The Toddler Years: A Practical Guide for Parents and Caregivers

5. Deceptively Delicious: Simple Secrets to Get You Kids Eating Good Food

6. Quiet: The Power of Introverts (Check out her TED Talk, it’s fabulous)

 

Not as exciting as my canonical texts of yore, but equally interesting for this sleepy mama. I’m also unabashedly catching up on my old Real Simple magazines…to which ZPB teases me mercilessly…”Who reads a magazine called ‘Real Simple’? Do you NEED it to be explained that much? Is it for simple people?” Oye. In a perfect world, I would be reading these on the beach with a cocktail in one hand rather than at 3:45am through one squinty eyeball post-nurse, but reading is reading, and I feel it strengthens the soul regardless.

 

What about you? Reading anything good? Waiting for a golden moment of quiet to begin reading something? Share!

 

Leave a Reply

